Survey delayed to accommodate storm recovery, now planned for October 2017

09/22/2017

We hope all our neighbors are safe and well as we recover from the impact and inconveniences brought about by Hurricane Irma. Understandably, our County Commissioner has postponed the mailing of incorporation surveys to account for these circumstances. Here is the update received from Commissioner Daniella Levine Cava to inform our community of the new timeline.

  • Dear Falls Area Resident: I hope that this message finds each of you doing well after Hurricane Irma. If we can assist you in any way, please do contact us. I am writing to update you on what has happened since our community meeting regarding the survey and to give you a timeline of next steps. As you know, I heard from many of you at the July 19th meeting I hosted at Killian High School. The purpose of the meeting was not to discuss the merits of a potential Falls incorporation, but rather to get input on the survey of registered voters I proposed. I appreciate your many thoughtful points and have made revisions to my plans based on your input, in consultation with Dr. Robert Ladner, an expert on opinion surveying. Since the July 19th meeting, I have met again with both pro and anti-incorporation groups to be sure that I am not favoring one side or another. I have also reviewed dozens of emails from residents and met individually with constituents who have requested time to discuss these issues. Just as we were finalizing a draft survey and working with the relevant county departments to proceed with the printing and mailing, our community was struck by Hurricane Irma. Fortunately, we were spared the worst of the storm, but we were all impacted by Irma in some way, and many of us, including myself, have only recently received electricity again. As we work to recover, I want to give adequate time for all residents to resume their normal lives before mailing this survey. I also must give county departments time to finish assisting residents with the problems created by the storm (debris removal, electrical issues and FEMA assistance). Given all of that, we are aiming to mail out the survey the week of October 9th, 2017, and expect the survey to be returned within three weeks. Recall that each survey will have postage pre-paid. We will schedule a community meeting thereafter to review the results. I look forward to learning more about the opinions of all registered voters in the Falls area. Please do not hesitate to contact my office if I may be of assistance.
  • Sincerely,
  • Daniella
  • district8@miamidade.gov
  • Miami-Dade County Commissioner Daniella Levine Cava - 10710 SW 107 Ave, Suite 103, Miami, FL 33189 (305) 378-6677
Stop The Falls Incorporation, Miami, Florida
All rights reserved 2017
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started